Tax News Update    Email this document    Print this document  

April 8, 2022

Puerto Rico's Treasury Department extends due date for certain income tax returns

In Administrative Determination (AD) 22-03, the Puerto Rico Treasury Department (PRTD) has extended the due date from April 18, 2022 to April 25, 2022 for certain tax payments and certain income tax returns, forms and statements.

Specifically, AD 22-03 extends the due date to April 25, 2022, for individual (Form 482) and corporate (Form 480.2) income tax returns and the corresponding tax payments. The extended due date also applies to requests for an extension of time to file the tax returns and the first quarterly estimated tax payment originally due April 18, 2022. As long as the taxpayer pays the tax due or makes the first quarterly payment by April 25, 2022, the PRTD will not impose penalties for missing or insufficient payments.

Taxpayers that submit an extension request by April 25, 2022, will have until October 18, 2022, to file their tax returns.


The text of the AD applies to specific income tax returns and the corresponding payments, as well as estimated tax payments for the first quarter of tax year 2022. That is to say, it is not clear if the extension applies to estimated tax payments for other quarters of fiscal years that are due April 18, 2022.

The PRTD's decision to extend the due date is being attributed to an electric power outage on April 6, 2022 that impacted most of Puerto Rico. Days after the outage, electric power is still being restored across Puerto Rico and that situation is most likely what prompted this decision. At the present time, we expect the April 25, 2022 date to be the final due date. As such, companies should comply with this new filing due date.


Contact Information
For additional information concerning this Alert, please contact:
State and Local Taxation Group
   • Rosa M. Rodríguez (
   • Pablo Hymovitz Cardona (
   • María T. Riollano (
   • Alberto J. Rossy (
   • Alexandra M. Pérez (
   • Carla J Diaz (
   • Karol I. Santiago (
   • Marcel Ramos (
   • Isabel Rivera (
   • Noeliz Suarez (
   • David Montañez (
   • Luz G. Rivera (