Tax News Update    Email this document    Print this document  

October 6, 2022

Finland prohibits certain Russian nationals from entering as tourists

Effective September 30, certain Russian nationals are prohibited from entering Finland for tourism and/or transiting through the country en route to another destination. Existing tourist and transit visas held by impacted individuals have been suspended, and no new tourist or transit visas will be issued to impacted Russian nationals until further notice. Impacted Russian nationals who seek, but are denied, admission to Finland on the basis of a Schengen Visa issued by Finland may have their visas revoked. If the visa was issued by another EU or Schengen Member State, the Finnish Border Guard may contact the competent authorities in the issuing Member State when considering whether to revoke the visa.

A Tax Alert prepared by EY's People Advisory Services group, and attached below, provides additional details.


Full text of Tax Alert