Tax News Update    Email this document    Print this document  

February 20, 2024

Malawi announces visa exemption for nationals of 79 countries, extended validity period for multiple-entry visas

On 7 February 2024, Malawi announced visa exemptions for nationals of 79 countries and extended the validity period of multiple-entry visas. Nationals of these countries, which include Australia, Canada, Germany, Russia, the UK, and Member States of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) and the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA), can now enter Malawi without a visa for up to 90 days for business and tourism purposes. In addition, holders of multiple-entry visas can now remain in Malawi for up to 12 months (up from six months previously).

A Tax Alert prepared by EY's People Advisory Services group, and attached below, provides additional details.

* * * * * * * * * *


Full text of Tax Alert