Tax News Update    Email this document    Print this document  

April 19, 2024

Turkiye announces new e-visa requirement for nationals of 10 countries who transit through Istanbul Airport

Effective 15 April 2024, nationals of 10 countries who seek to transit through Istanbul Airport en route to Colombia, Mexico, Panama or Venezuela must obtain an Electronic Airport Transit Visa in order to do so. Additionally, all travelers (regardless of their nationality) who are headed to destinations in Latin or South America and transit through Istanbul Airport may be subject to pre-travel screenings. The new transit visa requirement applies to citizens of Afghanistan, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Chad, Guinea, India, Mauritania, Nepal, Somalia and Yemen. These individuals may apply for the visa, which is free, online. They will be required to provide their personal information and ticket numbers, print and retain a copy of their visa (once issued), and present it at the airport.

A Tax Alert prepared by EY's People Advisory Services group, and attached below, provides additional details.

* * * * * * * * * *


Full text of Tax Alert