Tax News Update    Email this document    Print this document  

May 9, 2024

China extends visa-free policy for 12 countries until 31 December 2025

On 7 May 2024, China Mainland announced that the visa-free policies for nationals of 12 countries are being extended until 31 December 2025. China Mainland introduced visa exemptions for nationals of the following jurisdictions during the period from December 2023 to March 2024: Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Ireland, Luxembourg, Malaysia, the Netherlands, Spain and Switzerland. Qualifying nationals of the aforementioned jurisdictions can now continue to travel to China Mainland without a visa for up to 15 days per visit for the purpose of business, tourism or visiting family and friends, until 31 December 2025.

A Tax Alert prepared by EY's People Advisory Services group, and attached below, provides additional details.

* * * * * * * * * *


Full text of Tax Alert