Tax News Update    Email this document    Print this document  

May 28, 2024

Sweden announces simplified requirements for certain residence permit applications

On 16 May 2024, the Migration Agency announced a new pilot program that will enable all eligible residence permit applicants located outside Sweden to submit their passports electronically during the application process, without visiting a Swedish embassy or consulate. As part of the new pilot program, set to be initiated in the last week of May 2024, the Migration Agency will launch a new service on the mobile app called Freja, which will allow nationals of the following 23 jurisdictions to submit a copy of their passports electronically (instead of doing so in person): Albania, Argentina, Australia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Georgia, Hong Kong, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, North Macedonia, New Zealand, Peru, Taiwan, Serbia and Montenegro, Singapore, South Korea, Ukraine, the UK and the US.

A Tax Alert prepared by EY's People Advisory Services group, and attached below, provides additional details.

* * * * * * * * * *


Full text of Tax Alert